• As part of the relaunch of Skullheart, ALL previous threads have been archived. You can find them at the bottom of the forum in the Archives (2021) section. The archives are locked, so please use the new forum sections to create new discussion threads.

Digital Art Thread

Meow-Professor

Getting back into the swing of things
Reaction score
Steam
Meow-Professor
PSN
Meow-Professor
Filia Cerebella Squigly
Hi, I've noticed there are quite a few artists here on Skullheart, so I've made this thread for those of you who prefer drawing digitally.

Discuss what tablets and programs you use, the style you draw in, or ask for advice on how to draw or shade something.

Recently started using a tablet, although it feels a bit weird. Any tips on it?

(I'm using Wacom Intuos Pen & Touch)

I've been using graphic tablets for three years. I had a wacom bamboo first, and now I'm using a HuionH610.
The Wacom Bamboo is a good model to start.
Pros: price is not too high, light pen doesn't need batteries, easy to install, use, regulate and move around; can last 4-5 years with good care.
Cons: kind of tiny and has a rough surface.
Wacom holds the domain in west world, so they're kind of a dick and keep prices too high. But there are chinese alternatives who are cheaper and work just as good. As I said I have an Huion and I love it; I also heard good of Monoprice and Aiptek.
I paid my Huion 40 dollars, its model is similar to Wacom's Intuos. It's large and very sensible to pressure which comes handy with inking and painting, but it doesn't work well in programs who don't have a stabilizer included (freaking Photoshop)

Surface dimensions depend on each artist, but I personally think a larger surface allows you to use your whole arm instead of only your wrist/fingers, which hurts a lot.

Any tips on it?
Could you be a bit more specific?

Practice, I suppose, is really the only thing I can say here. It's probably not what you want to hear, though.