• As part of the relaunch of Skullheart, ALL previous threads have been archived. You can find them at the bottom of the forum in the Archives (2021) section. The archives are locked, so please use the new forum sections to create new discussion threads.

New to Skullgirls (online fighting games in general)

Skeeledon

Reaction score
Steam
Skeeledon
Painwheel
I am fairly new to fighting games, atleast playing other online people (NOT ONLINE GAMES, I play MOBA a lot) (Just being sure people dont think i live under a rock or something). I used to as a kid play some fighting games but they were always against bots. Now me and my friends got into this and are having fun, but they are beating me constantly. I am trying to play more then them so i can catch up. I have read a good bit and played for a around 6 hours or so. Also I have decided to make PainWheel my main. I understand most of her combos come from fly cancel. So here are a few questions.

1. Is getting an assist character worth it? If so who goes well to support PainWheel?
2. A few combos i have read i see something called a buer cancel. I understand that a buer is a 2-3-6 + K, but what does the cancel mean? Is it to cancel frames to go into a combo faster?
3. This is for PainWheel players mostly. Any tips you wish you knew earlier on playing PainWheel?
4. Any tips in general for beginners, even to just fighting games? (I have learned not to mash recently so i am moving up). All i can think of is stick to a character and just play as much as possible.

1. Assist characters are worth it down the line especially if you're playing PW, but for now you're probably going to want to play solo for a while just to get a feel for the game. Get used to how PW plays, then try another character and see how that works. I'd recommend the classic x/Filia Updo/Double Butt shell but there are other options.