• As part of the relaunch of Skullheart, ALL previous threads have been archived. You can find them at the bottom of the forum in the Archives (2021) section. The archives are locked, so please use the new forum sections to create new discussion threads.

Complete beginner to fighting games and skullgirls here. Looking for some help please.

Alpexx99

Reaction score
Hi guys. I'm completely new to fighimg games as I said in the title. I was hoping for some advice regarding the game in general and some controller setup.

Firstly I have been using an xbox 360 pad and I have gone through some of the tutorials. Some of the problems I have had are with:
  • The set up of the controls. I've noticed that a lot of moves require you to press two buttons at once. Is this normal for fighing games as I am finding it ifficult to do this as I always end up pressing one just slightly after the other?
  • What would you recommend for a set up on the controller that is the most user friendly?
  • I also feel like the 360 controller isn't the best for fighting games for the reason I said above. I'm not currently willing to invest in an expensive fightstick but are there any other controllers you recommend which will be better for fighting games?
  • I'm also getting frustrated with trying to do the combos shown in the tutorial. I have to think a lot about the buttons before I press them. Is this normal? And when I'm in a cpu match I end up panicking and mashing the buttons instead.
  • I was also wondering what the best character for me to start learning should be. I'd like to play Valentine but if she is one of the harder characters I wouldn't mind switching to someone else. Any recommendations?
That's all guys. Thanks for reading and I appreciate any help.