• As part of the relaunch of Skullheart, ALL previous threads have been archived. You can find them at the bottom of the forum in the Archives (2021) section. The archives are locked, so please use the new forum sections to create new discussion threads.

Painwheel short combos?

sanslogique

Reaction score
PSN
sanslogique
Squigly Valentine Painwheel
Hey all,

I'm new to Skullgirls and fighting games. I have the sad fortune to be most interested in Painwheel. I've been reading as much as I can, but a lot of posts are still too advanced for me.

I've been trying to learn this combo, from the BnB compendium thread:

c.lk, c.mk, s.hp xx L Buer Reaper xx Flight,
6j.lk,
c.mk, s.hp xx L Gae Bolga Stinger,
. . .

I'm really struggling with the timing between flight->6j.lk->c.mk. I almost always drop the combo between those two. Is this even a problem? It's not like I'm missing the moves, I just can't chain them quite right.

That leads me into my main question: are there any good short combos, maybe 5 moves or so, that I can just learn a handful of to get me in the game? I'm hoping that if there are, I can learn those and start working on learning hit confirmation, neutral game, etc.

Thanks in advance.

Try switching c.mk for c.lk in the BnB, it's faster so the link gets a lot easier.

Here's an easy short combo:

c.lk, c.mk, s.hp xx L Buer Reaper xx Flight,
9j.lp, j.lk,
c.mp, s.hp xx L Gae Bolga Stinger,
dash, s.lp, s.lk, c.mp, s.hp xx L Buer Reaper xx Death Crawl

this one has no hard links and does 6091 dmg

Also this video guide is a great tool to help getting started on painwheel. :)

Reactions: sanslogique
if you're actively playing matches and don't plan on going into practice mode, start with one chain > super.

then try to add on a chain to your combo every day.

For example, day 1
cLk cMK sHP L-Buer Deathcrawl

then day 2
cLk cMK sHP L-Buer Fly
9jLP jLK cLK cMK sHP L-Buer Deathcrawl

day 3
cLk cMK sHP L-Buer Fly
9jLP jLK cLK cMK sHP L-Nail