• As part of the relaunch of Skullheart, ALL previous threads have been archived. You can find them at the bottom of the forum in the Archives (2021) section. The archives are locked, so please use the new forum sections to create new discussion threads.

Steam - Windows Planning to make a custom controller; any help would be appreciated.

DapperEntity

I make bad decisions. I'll learn eventually.
Reaction score
Steam
DapperEntity
PSN
DapperEntity
Beowulf Big Band
Hello there! Those of you who know me, move on. Those who don't, move on. Those who couldn't care less, move on.

After playing Skullgirls for a few days, I fell in love with the controls on keyboard. However, the buttons on my keyboard don't fit my fingers that well, and they're noisy at that. This made me decide to buy an arcade stick. However, I've had some bad experiences with joysticks (I'm looking at you, Mahvel blocking), so I planned on going joystick-less. But wait! I couldn't just buy a Hitbox controller; the directional inputs were on the wrong side! After using arrow keys on the right side of my keyboard for so long, I can't switch the directional inputs to my left hand just like *that*. Which brings us to this, my left-handed stickless controller designed specifically for Skullgirls.
My Stepdad said:
So, basically, what you're doing here is remapping a keyboard with less keys.

The controller I have in mind is kind of like a left-handed Hitbox controller, to put it simply. Those of you unfamiliar with a Hitbox, that means it has directional buttons instead of a stick. I've never made a controller before (or anything physical, for that matter), so I was hoping to get some assistance with things such as:
  • How do I map keys? The stick won't do any good if I can't actually use it.
  • Is there anything in particular I need to know about the construction/electrical work so I don't blow myself up?