• As part of the relaunch of Skullheart, ALL previous threads have been archived. You can find them at the bottom of the forum in the Archives (2021) section. The archives are locked, so please use the new forum sections to create new discussion threads.

What fightstick should I get if I'm a beginner?

HylianArgonian

Immediate Past President of the Being Alive Club
Reaction score
Steam
HylianArgonian
Filia Eliza Unknown
Hello everyone, this is my first post here on the Skullgirls forums, so hi.

I'm looking into getting a fightstick so I can really get into the game. I picked the game + DLC up on Steam around the end of December, and while I do like it a lot (I'm starting to get the hang of Filia, Big Band and Parasoul btw), I feel as the controls and set-up on my controller are wrong, to say the least. I can memorise combos just fine, but it's just the placement of the D-Pad on an 360 controller feels awkward and using a keyboard is just too 'stretched out', if that makes any sense.

I've been hearing that most, if not all professional players use fightsticks to play, so I've been thinking about getting one. The only problem is, I don't know what one to get! I'm short on cash at the moment since I'm saving up for a vacation in three months, but all the ones I'm seeing on Amazon and Ebay and the like are around the $100-$200 mark, and I have no way of knowing of which one is the best quality or the best deal or whatever.

What I'm looking for is a recommendation on which one I should buy if this is my first time buying a fightstick. I would appreciate it very much if you could leave an opinion or something in this thread.

Play with what you're comfortable with you don't need a fightstick to play fighting games. Maybe try a ps3 pad? or a DS4 I hear good things about those.