• As part of the relaunch of Skullheart, ALL previous threads have been archived. You can find them at the bottom of the forum in the Archives (2021) section. The archives are locked, so please use the new forum sections to create new discussion threads.

NEWBIE PLAYER - HELP WITH BIG BAND

TheVulong

Hawken pilot
Reaction score
Steam
TheVulong
Big Band
Hello.

Been waiting for Skullgirls on PC - as a don't have a console - since early 2013 but bought it on Steam just yesterday. So i ran through the tutorial and started to play as Big Band. I managed to learn the majority of specials and a few simple combos but that's it. I have played a dozen of online matches and for the most part i was getting owned.

So, as a complete newbie i would like to ask a few questions about how to play well with Big Band:

1. Defense.
First problem i encountered was the pressure from the opponent: most of those who i fought against started to pressure me right away and didn't really give me any chance to counterattack. There were sutiations where a saw and used the opening to break out but for the most part things were ending up pretty dire for me. So, my questions:
How do i keep my opponent at bay with Big Band?
What is the best anti air move?
What is the best ground defense move?

2. Offense.
Second problem i faced was my inability to actually approach the enemy and start a combo. As i said i learned a couple of simple combos starting with either LP or LK but i only managed to perform them on blocking, when the opponent was right in my face. My questions here:
How do i safely approach my enemy, especially keepaway characters like Peacock?
What are the best moves to start a combo?
What most basic and simple combos involving special moves should i learn as a newbie player?
Do consider that i play with keyboard and i would like to start with simple 10-20 hit chains.

"How do I keep my opponent at bay with Big Band?"