• As part of the relaunch of Skullheart, ALL previous threads have been archived. You can find them at the bottom of the forum in the Archives (2021) section. The archives are locked, so please use the new forum sections to create new discussion threads.

How can I use Hatred Guard effectively?

Graviiga

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

Almost total novice/training room hero here, so forgive me if I'm asking something obvious--but I can't make Painwheel's Hatred Guard mechanic work for me. Other than occasionally catching a guy mashing c.lp during blockstrings or winning the odd air-to-air with j.HP, it doesn't feel like it's worth going for, especially since even when I DO catch someone with a pure focus attack they can usually just confirm into the rest of their combo anyways (or cancel to a special if they're quick).

Do you guys have any better luck, or is it just a highly situational mechanic? And if it is situational, when do you use it/what setups can you do to really make it shine?

Yeah its situational... use it against single hits, like jump-ins and such. I use s.MK to anti air, and c.MP for everything else. j.HP can be good, absorb a hit and fly cancel and keep going.
I use it to aa filia's iad hp hk, use c.mp or s.mk. works on para j.hp, bella's headbutt, dash-up lows, etc
Just try it against anything thats single hit or 2 hits that arent too fast, and it works with the right timing.

Last edited:
I use j.HP to absorb projectiles and close distance most of the times. I also like to guard Parasoul's j.HP (and other single hit jump-ins) with s.LP, it doesn't always work 'cause the hitbox sucks but is really neat when it does ^^. Use sMP, sMK or cMP like the other dude said and you're good. Don't abuse it thou, if they start using multi-hitting normals it won't work and you will get punished really hard.

Hatred guard is supposed to be used in tandem with painwheels flight... Theoretically speaking: