• As part of the relaunch of Skullheart, ALL previous threads have been archived. You can find them at the bottom of the forum in the Archives (2021) section. The archives are locked, so please use the new forum sections to create new discussion threads.

Starting my own Fighstick, need help!

docvader

Reaction score
Steam
http://steamcommunity.com/id/docvader
Hello everyone, first of all, I want to apologize for my basic english! :P

I'm a completely noob at Skullgirls, and fighting games in general (last fighting game I remember playing is Tekken 3 on the arcades, and that was ages ago).

But now, I have acquired some interest in the genre with MK9 coming to Steam, but didn't really enjoyed it because of the laggy on-line play. But then I bought Skullgirls, and I liked it (I'm still learning how to play :P). The thing is that I am having a hard time with the d-pad of my good ol' 360 controller, so I decided to build my own fighting stick (I always wanted one, but now with this game I finally have a reason to do it haha).

I am lazy as hell, so I considered to buy a good one instead of building a mediocre one, but importation fees in my country (Argentina) are ridiculous, so it would cost me way more than it's value, whether if I buy it here (if I can find one) or online from X country.

Enough Yada-Yada.

This is the stuff that I'm going to use:

Generic buttons + cherry switches:
mlHlSS0.jpg

"Asahi Seiko" Joystick (it claims to have platinum contacts, but I doubt it) :
Amyy24f.jpg

eS7myAm.jpg

The first problem I faced is how to get an adequate placement and distribution of the buttons. After a little Googlin' I found this layout:

shift36_s.png

And using the same measures, I put the buttons on a piece of cardboard to see how it's gonna look:

Vnfch4f.jpg