• As part of the relaunch of Skullheart, ALL previous threads have been archived. You can find them at the bottom of the forum in the Archives (2021) section. The archives are locked, so please use the new forum sections to create new discussion threads.

Vocaloid Thread

JingooJ

Reaction score
Didn't wan't to put this into the music thread since it doesn't really seem to fit.
Post Vocaloid related stuff in here.
I'll start off:
Yan He somehow didn't catch my attention until now, but I have to say she is definitely superior to Luo Tian Yi.
Her pronounciation is much clearer, and the sound of her voice is much nicer.

Vocaloid, now there's something to talk about.
I've been avoiding Vocaloid (somehow) for the past 5 years.
Basically when it started and boomed with Miku.
Why?
I don't know.
I'm trying to get into it because I got Project Diva F and I do enjoy the music, so now I'm kinda kicking myself for not trying it sooner.

I truly need somebody to explain the appeal of vocaloid to me. I'm being honest: please explain it. I just listened to that entire song, and I'm unable to see how it's anything but inferior to real singing. It feels like replacing real guitar with midi guitar. It feels wrong. What am I missing?

Last edited:
I think it's more the magic that anyone can bring a story or song they want to show to the world to life with the program, pretty much?
Could be wrong, I'm trying to understand it a bit myself

I truly need somebody to explain the appeal of vocaloid to me. I'm being honest: please explain it. I just listened to that entire song, and it I'm unable to see how it's anything but inferior to real singing. It feels like replacing real guitar with midi guitar. It feels wrong. What am I missing?

There's just a certain aspect to it that people like.

It's like 8-bit remixes, the sound is objectively inferior to actual instruments, but it has this odd quality to it that people like that makes it popular.