• As part of the relaunch of Skullheart, ALL previous threads have been archived. You can find them at the bottom of the forum in the Archives (2021) section. The archives are locked, so please use the new forum sections to create new discussion threads.

Looking into Skullgirls and I'm more interested than ever

TopTierTaite

Reaction score
Steam
TaiteFGC
PSN
Goon_2
Squigly
Hello everyone,
I'm a player (not new to the fgc scene, just kind-of new to SG) looking into Skullgirls. A little bit about me is that I started playing competitively in December of 2011. Since then, I've played pretty much exclusively Capcom (SF and Marvel) and ASW games (GG, BB, and P4A), AKA the Anime games. I've dabbled in a little Tekken and Kof, but I'm mostly into Capcom and ASW fighters. I've recently been interested in Skullgirls as it looks to be a cross between the two and that's interesting to me. My favorite character is Squigly and I'd like to have her on my team, even if she's better off as an assist or whatnot. I don't own the game yet, but I have some questions I'd like to ask before I plop down my money. So, my questions are
1. How is the game flow like?
2. Is there a type of "gatling" system in SG, or is it like SF's combo system?
3. How viable is Squigly, who are her best partners, and why? I've been looking at Valentine, Fillia/Fukua (whichever works with Squigly best), and Parasoul as those are the other characters I like.
4. Can someone explain why I would want to do teams or solo? The only explanation I've gotten is that I get more health and dmg output with the less characters but I'd like to know what is the best option to choose going into a tournament or hopping online.
5. Why is Big Band paired with her often?
6. Who are some of the best players?

Quite a bit of questions, but I hope it's not way too much ^_^'
~Thanks in advance.

I'm not really gonna answer the first 2, since Skullgirls is my first fighter but as a Squigly main myself I can tell you...